Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

DSC_0177

Fall. The time to celebrate a plethora of magical things: Perfect weather, leaves changing, apple cider, apples, and the most important…PUMPKIN!!! Pumpkin everything! Cakes, pies, cookies, lattes, roasted, who cares!? It’s PUMPKIN GODDAMNIT!

I think there’s something about pumpkin and apple that just puts a smile on people’s face. The warmth of fresh donuts, the smell of squash and fresh produce being inhaled constantly, the crisp air with aromas of fresh honeycrisp apples circulating all around you, seeing the hayrides bringing families up to go apple and pumpkin picking for the holidays. I don’t know about you, but the color exhilarate me. They make me smile, they make me want to be outside all the time, and they make me want to eat. A lot.

That being said, I came up with these pumpkin cookies, that not only blew my mind, but my dad’s as well. And trust me, that’s hard as hell to do.

Yields: 24 Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of sifted almond flour (it will change the entire texture)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 tbsp. pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • Chocolate chips (1.5 cups) OPTIONAL

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients together.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix together the eggs and maple syrup until combined and add to the dry ingredients and mix.
  4. Add in the vanilla and coconut oil until incorporated then add the pumpkin.
  5. Add Chocolate chips if you choose to use them
  6. On a lined baking sheet, put about a tablespoon of batter and don’t push them down. You want them to stay airy.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until there’s a slight browning on top.
  8. EAT ‘EM UP!

DSC_0176

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2013 by in Desserts.