Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Tomato Rosemary Soup

Soup. The definition of winter. If I could consume soup every day for the winter season, I would. In fact, maybe I will do just that. You know what I love most about soup? You really can’t mess it up. Unless you forget broth or water or burn off all the liquid or….I don’t think I’m helping my case. But don’t worry, those mistakes are nearly impossible to make.
I recently moved back to Colorado where I have been experiencing weather more bipolar than the Kardashian family. When I first arrived, the weather was 65 and beautiful outside. Two days later? I was experiencing a high of 8 degrees and a low of -3. It was great. I spent every day at the beach, tanning. Ha! Just kidding. There are no beaches in Colorado. Only hot springs…say whaaaa!? Hot springs I say! 95 degree natural springs where you can sit outside in 10 degree weather, in a bathing suit, and still be warm. That’s mother nature at it’s finest, muthafuckas!!!
When I’m done daydreaming about those hot springs and how one day I’ll actually make it to one, I run to the store, see what’s on sale, and make soup with it. In this case, it was tomatoes and the sad story of how basil was sold out in 3 supermarkets so I went with rosemary, hence the creation of a new soup. Mind blowing how soup recipes come to be! (If you agree, you’re nuts. It’s not mind blowing. Don’t try and make me feel better. You can’t suck up to me, unless you send me free samples to my door)

Prep Time: 20 minutes/ Cook Time: 1 hour / Servings: 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. Coconut or olive oil
  • 5 vine ripened tomatoes cleaned and quartered (cleaned meaning taking off the core on top)
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (chicken if you’re not vegetarian or vegan)
  • 1 – 6oz can of tomato paste
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 Fahrenheit
  2. Clean and quarter all of the tomatoes (eat a slice or two), toss them with olive oil, salt and pepper and place on a sheet pan for 30 minutes.
  3. While those are cooking, chop the onion, garlic, and rosemary and set aside.
  4. In a soup pot, melt the coconut oil on medium high heat. (try and do this when there is about 10 minutes left on the tomatoes)
  5. Add the onion and garlic and let it cook until translucent, about five minutes.
  6. Add in the rosemary and tomatoes and continue to cook for another minute.
  7. Pour in the 3 cups of broth along with the tomato paste and turn to medium heat. Continue to stir the soup until all of the tomato paste as been incorporated.
  8. Continue to cook the soup on low-medium heat until it’s at a low simmer. Cover the pot and let it cook for 30 minutes. My stove is very temperamental, so I had to continuously check on it to make sure it wasn’t boiling.
  9. Add in the salt and pepper, take an immersion blender, blender, or food processor and blend the soup until it’s a smooth puree.
  10. Put into a giant mug (my favorite way to eat soup), top it with some fresh rosemary, and enjoy!

BeFunky_BeFunky_DSC_0016 (2)

One comment on “Tomato Rosemary Soup

  1. Ani
    December 12, 2013

    I have always made tomato basil soup, but rosemary sounds like a nice change!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Dinner, Vegan, Vegetarian.
