Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Creme Brulee

DSC_0096 (2)

So I set my oven on fire this weekend. I didn’t even think I was capable of that from making bacon wrapped scallops, but I guess I am. I kept on hearing crackling sounds from the oven but I thought it was just the bacon, and every time I opened the oven door, it WAS the bacon. And then 5 minutes later I heard the same sound and decided to not look and then when I went to check on them, the oven and foil and scallops were on fire and it was flaring out of the door. I was more petrified than seeing Miley’s butt on the VMAs.

So to prevent that, here’s a tip: If you are broiling and have tin foil on the pan or have something with oil on it, don’t put it right under the fire because it will cause a grease fire which will set the tin foil on fire, which will then cause major chaos in your kitchen.

I bring up this story because I had to use the broiler for my crème brulee since I don’t own a blowtorch (it’s on my Hannukah list…that and knives. Who needs clothing when you can have a Santoku knife, right?) Usually I get intimidated by any recipe that has an accent mark. Come on now, we all think it. If it has an accent mark, it’s fancy, and fancy means expensive and complicated. Or it just means that you enunciate a particular section of the word. But I am more of a fan of my first explanation. This recipe needs to be tested a few more times but the flavor is there and it is fully cooked (hooray for no salmonella!) I also think that a blowtorch would make the top become a lot more caramelized than it was, so if you are a huge crème brulee enthusiast, I would suggest splurging on a blowtorch (about $50) even though broilers also work. I just have that fear of burning my entire kitchen down, which we now know I am fully capable of.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 vanilla bean or 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 3/8 cup of pure cane sugar or coconut sugar
  • 3 – 4 tablespoons of sugar for the tops of the crème brulee

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees
  2. Pour the coconut milk and vanilla into a saucepan and let it simmer of medium-low heat
  3. In a bowl, using a hand mixer, mix the egg yolks and sugar until it’s a pale yellow color and a thicker consistency.
  4. Strain the milk/vanilla mixture through a fine mesh strainer.
  5. Slowly pour 1/4 cup of the coconut milk mixture into the eggs while continuously mixing. You don’t want to cook the eggs so make sure to pour it slowly and make sure to keep mixing. Once that is mixed, pour in the rest of the mixture while mixing until fully combined.
  6. Place your ramekins into a rimmed baking pan
  7. Ladle the custard mixture into each ramekin until it’s about 3/4 of the way filled.
  8. Fill the pan with water so it’s halfway up the ramekins. Make sure not to get any water into the ramekins! It will mess up the baking process.
  9. Place plan in oven and let it cook for about 35-40 minutes. It should be a little jiggly, so don’t get too worried. They should look like they’re just about set and don’t let them brown.
  10. Carefully take the ramekins out of the pan and set them on your counter for a few minutes to let them cool down. Once cooled, cover them in saran wrap and chill them for about 2-3 hours
  11. When you are ready to serve them, sprinkle a tablespoon of sugar on them and use the blowtorch to melt the sugar into this caramelized crust on top. If you do not have a blowtorch, stick the ramekins on a pan and place it six inches from the broiler and let them cook for about 4 minutes. Watch them, because the broiler can change the texture of the brulees completely.
  12. Serve immediately!
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2013 by in Desserts.
