Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Citrus Brussel Sprouts

Money sucks. And I’ll tell you why.

Well, because it does. Rent, bills, gas, food, the list goes on. EVERYTHING costs money and it infuriates me, as I’m sure it does for the rest of you. I work, but not a lot. I make money, but not a lot. And I eat, a lot. So the combination of the three causes problems because I can’t cook and experiment as much as I like which limits my grocery list to frozen veggies, sometimes fresh, chicken breast or ground turkey, eggs, and bacon (it’s a splurge, leave me alone).  This is what cause my experimentation to come to a halt. Or I can make things interesting with the mundane ingredients I already have in my house. Which in this case was Brussels sprouts. In New Jersey, I would buy a small cup of them that probably held 15 Brussels sprouts and it would cost me $3.99. Here in Colorado, I can buy 1.5 pounds of Brussels sprouts and spend $2.oo. Let’s take a moment to hail Sprouts!

So today I decided to get down with my funky side and experiment with my Brussels sprouts and my roommate chose to be adventurous and try it with me. And we both agreed, compared to my favorite method of roasting them with bacon, this wasn’t bad at all. I also wouldn’t put a mediocre recipe up on this blog (or would I?) It’s so simple, the worst chef in the world really couldn’t mess this up.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of shaved Brussels sprouts (slice them thin, I used a knife, you could use a mandolin if you prefer)
  • 1.5 tbsp. olive or coconut oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • Zest of one lemon
  • Juice of half of a lemon

Instructions:

  • Heat the oil on medium high heat.
  • Add garlic and let it cook until you smell the aromas. My garlic turned brown, which gives it more flavor.
  • Add in the Brussels sprouts and let them cook down for a minute. Keep the heat on high and constantly stir.
  • Add in the zest, stir, then proceed with the lemon juice. Let it cook until the Brussels sprouts start to brown
  • Add salt and pepper to taste and remove from heat.
  • Can be served hot or cold.

Makes 2 servings or 1.5 cups cooked Brussels sprouts.

DSC_0083

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2014 by in Side Dishes, Vegan, Vegetarian.
