Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Red Velvet Cookies (or really thin brownies)

 DSC_0020 (2)

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

Yes, it’s February 28th, and yes, I know it’s not Valentine’s Day, but it is the same month so I have to get some brownie points for that, right? If my camera chord to my computer didn’t magically disappear, this recipe would have been up on the actual holiday but who is really that punctual anymore?

Can I get an “Amen!?”

….or not.

Despite the fact that it is almost March, I will still give you my opinion on this holiday of love. I personally don’t understand it. It’s a greeting card holiday and that’s all it is. If you saw the movie Valentine’s Day, the reasoning behind the holiday is that there was a priest named St. Valentine who would secretly marry people during the war because it was forbidden. He believed that people should be able to be in love and to marry. And don’t get me wrong, I agree, and I’m a sucker for a cute story. But I always wondered why we need one particular day to appreciate the ones you are with. Shouldn’t we be doing that every day? Lets also talk about the fact that it is a day to really recognize how single you are.

But enough about my rant, lets talk about these cookies/brownies/whatever you want to call them and how this was the only thing I was truly in love with this holiday. I figured that if I didn’t have someone to be in love with, I should at least bake something that I could eat for hours and hours and feel fat, full, and satisfied; and that is exactly what I did. Hopefully you will do the same; not eat them all and feel fat, unless you want to, but enjoy these and die in heaven for the minute that you are consuming them.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups + t tbsp almond flour(sifted if you have almond meal)

1/4 unsweetened cocoa powder (I used dark chocolate which is why my cookies don’t look very red)

1/2 cup grass-fed butter (you could probably use 1/2 cup of coconut oil melted but I haven’t tried it that way so don’t quote me)

1 tap baking soda

1 tbsp coconut flour

1/ tsp salt

3/8 cup pure maple syrup

1/8 cup honey

1 egg at room temperature

1 tbsp full fat coconut milk

2 tap vanilla

1 tbsp red food dye or beet juice if you want it to be authentic

1 cup of Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips or dark chocolate chips if you’re not strict paleo

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit (I don’t preheat mine until later in the recipe) and make sure the egg is out so it’s at room temperature by the time you use it
  2. Toss the almond flour, baking soda, coconut flour, and salt into a bowl and set aside.
  3. In a bowl beat the butter until it acquires a creamy texture, then add in the maple syrup and honey until thoroughly combined then scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to make sure it’s all incorporated.
  4. Add in the egg, vanilla, and coconut milk and mix until again, all is incorporated while scraping down the sides and bottom of the bowl.
  5. Add in the food coloring and add more or less unless you get the desired color you are looking for.
  6. Slowly add the dry mixture into the wet until it forms a wet, but sticky dough. If it doesn’t seem thick enough to you, add in more coconut flour one teaspoon at a time until you get that sticky consistency.
  7. Lastly add in the chocolate chips.
  8. Cover the dough tightly with aluminum foil or seran wrap and place it in the fridge for a minimum of one hour until the dough is more dense that you can roll balls with your hands. I tend to preheat my oven about 30 minutes into the chilling process.
  9. Line sheet pans with parchment paper and measure out 1.5 tbsp of dough and roll them in your hands to form a ball and place them on the sheet pan.
  10. Place them into the oven for 10-12 minutes (keep an eye on them) until they flatten out and when you touch them, they spring up.
  11. If you want to cut them into shapes, I suggest cutting them about a minute after they come out of the oven and place them on a cooling rack.
  12. DEVOUR THEM. BE FAT. ENJOY. LIVE LIFE. AND LOVE WHAT YOU BAKE.

DSC_0076 (2)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2014 by in Desserts, Vegetarian.
