Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Honey and Currant Granola

Breakfast is my favorite meal. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, French toast, and did I mention bacon? I swear by this meal. If it’s not consumed right when I wake up, my day feels pointless. But there are some foods that are considered breakfast foods that I just never want to eat because they don’t intrigue me: muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereal, toast, and granola.

Here’s my reasoning. Muffins are full of sugar, bagels are delicious but only back home in New York/New Jersey, so I don’t even bother trying to find a good one, yogurt is just bland and dairy hurts my stomach, cereal is packed full of sugar, preservatives, and no health benefit whatsoever, toast, especially white toast is all sugar that will eventually turn into fat, and unless it’s homemade bread, which it usually isn’t, it resembles cardboard, and granola, well, it’s just a “healthier” version of cereal and quite expensive if I do say so myself.

But I gave myself a challenge (since I’m currently unemployed and have been spending way too much time in my kitchen), that I would make a more delicious and Paleo version of one of these, and since my view on granola is quite horrible, I decided to try and change that. And By Golly! Let me just say, that this granola is ADDICTING. Inspired by paleocupboard, I changed it around a little bit but the premise is all her! So thank god she exists. Be sure to check out her blog as well! www.paleocupboard.com (credit where it’s due of course!)

DSC_0069 (2)

What you will need:

  • Food processor or knife if you don’t have one
  • Parchment paper
  • Sheet pan
  • Spatula

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw almonds; unsalted (preference)
  • 1 cup raw cashews, unsalted (you can choose any nut that you want)
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 2/3 cup dried currants or any dried fruit
  • 1/3 cup pepitas or any seed of your choice
  • ½ cup pure honey
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Sea salt

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 275 degrees Fahrenheit and line a sheet pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a food processor, quickly pulse together the almonds, cashews, and coconut until they are slightly chopped but not ground. You want those big pieces in there or your granola will be delicious mush. If you do not have a food processor, just do a rough chop on them on the cutting board and it will work out just fine, if not, better. Once chopped, place into a bowl.
  3. In the microwave, combine vanilla, coconut oil, and honey for about 45 seconds, until everything is melted.
  4. Add the melted ingredients to the nuts and mix until fully coated.
  5. Lay out a smooth layer onto the sheet pan. It should be pretty sticky so don’t worry about that.
  6. Let it cook for 25-30 minutes, stirring it once or twice until it’s nice and brown. I chose to not really mix mine because I wanted to give it more of a chewy texture than crunchy and it came out much better in my opinion.
  7. When it’s out of the oven, spread the pepitas and currants over the top and press them into the granola so they become incorporated and then let it sit for about 20 minutes, allowing it to cool down.
  8. I like to add my salt last minute, so I sprinkled about ½ tsp of pink Himalayan sea salt on top of it before breaking it into pieces and incorporating everything together.
  9. Break the granola into pieces, store in a mason jar or Tupperware and enjoy! I eat mine plain with nothing as a snack which is why I like it chewy, but add it to some yogurt or add almond milk to it and indulge!

The best thing about granola and making your own is that you can add whatever your heart desires because there is no right or wrong way to make it. Whether you are paleo or not, add chocolate, craisins, peanuts, or toffee. Add brewed coffee, cocoa powder, or cinnamon. Experiment! I know I will be!

Isn’t that what cooking is all about!?

2 comments on “Honey and Currant Granola

  1. cloudthyme
    November 11, 2014

    Yum! I love granola and this is a delicious-looking version!

  2. Heidie Makes
    November 12, 2014

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2014 by in Breakfast, Snacks, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , .

Navigation

