Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Simple Baked Chicken

redo chicken (2)

Lately, it’s been a little bit hectic for me. Not in the sense that I have a lot to do, but I have a lot to think about in regards to the next couple of months. If you haven’t heard about Colorado, there was a huge flood in my new home of Boulder. Luckily I was home during the time of the tragic event, but my thoughts and prayers are with those in Boulder right now who lost everything. So right now, I’m trying to figure out when I can begin working again with my shoulder and when is the right time for me to move back there. I keep having hesitations about leaving New Jersey again but I know I need to take a chance and give Colorado another try. I love the mountains, the friendly people, the hippie atmosphere, and the foodie lifestyle. It’s my dream home and I can’t wait to finally get myself back out there.

But for right now, I am home, recovering from my shoulder surgery and trying to enjoy what time I have home. That includes trying to cook things I have always wanted to cook, paleo or not. And to top it all off, IT’S FALL!!!! (well, almost) but means 3 thinks: APPLES, SQUASH, AND PUMPKINS!! That means recipes recipes recipes!!!!! Soups, muffins, pies, pizzas, fritters, every possible combination I can come up with!! I am beyond excited and can’t wait to share them all with you! I don’t know about you, but I plan on going apple and pumpkin picking every week at least once. You know the saying, “An apple a day keeps the doctor away!” But I say, “Six apples a day keeps every fucking doctor and illness away from you.”

So, this recipe is one that I like to have fun with. There really is no right or wrong way to cook it. The only important thing is the cooking time so it doesn’t come out raw. This is so simple because if you want to put coffee on your chicken, do it. If you want to stuff it with figs, do it. Because honestly, chicken is one of those proteins that has a blank canvas for you to create a masterpiece. I made this recipe the other day so I would have chicken for the whole week and I thought it was quite delicious and I would share. But don’t fret! Because every time I come up with a new variation, I will post it. It would be unfair of me to keep you out of the loop.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds chicken breasts (or a package, weight isn’t important) MAKE SURE THEY ARE THICK!
  • Mrs. Dash chicken seasoning (it’s actually called that)
  • Head of garlic
  • 1-2 cups fresh basil

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Pat dry the chicken breasts, then with a knife, cut a pocket into the chicken. So leave a little chicken on each end so you do accidentally butterfly the chicken by accident. If you do, it’s no big deal, just handle it more carefully. Make sure you don’t cut all the way through the chicken.
  3. Peel garlic cloves, if you like it garlicky, peel a lot, if not, then use about 2 cloves per chicken. Cut the coves in half the long way.
  4. Pick off the leaves of basil of their stems.
  5. Stuff each chicken pocket with as much basil and garlic as you would like. But make sure it’s full. Pack in that flavor. FLAVOR POWER!
  6. Cover the chicken on both sides with the Mrs. Dash seasoning well and then place them on a baking sheet lined with foil.
  7. Cook it covered (with another piece of foil tightly put on top for 20-25 minutes, and then uncover and cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  8. Let it sit for about 10 minutes and then scoop out the insides and serve or cut it into pieces for meals later on in the week!! (That’s what I do)

Really get super creative with this! After I jokingly said to stuff it with figs, I was like, “well, that’s kind of a brilliant idea, bacon and fig stuffed chicken. I think I have my next recipe idea…

If you come up with any incredible  combinations, post it in the comments or email me at Egabo727@gmail.com and I will feature the recipe on my site!

Bon Appetit,

Emily xoxo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2013 by in Dinner.
