Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

L’Shana Tova!!

Meaning “head of the year,” Rosh Hashanah is the Jewish new year, also known as the Feast of Trumpets, where family and friends gather round for a huge dinner to celebrate what was known to be the day Adam and Eve were created. This holiday is two days long, the first night being recognized as Tishrei. In the Jewish religion, it’s usually celebrated with the blowing of a shofar (a hallowed out rams horn) and the dipping of apples and honey to signify the “sweet new year.”

Entertaining in my family is a huge deal. We love to invite our friends and family over for the holidays. I don’t want to toot our own horn, but….TOOT TOOT! Our house is the place to be on the jewish holidays (is that something one actually brags about?) You should see our Passovers of 40 guests and 25 pounds of my mom’s infamous brisket. But I’ll tell you more about that in April, when we actually celebrate it. But I’m not going to go into detail about the dinner itself, but more about the dessert. When it comes to the holidays, I don’t like to be involved in the baking. The stress, time constraints, anxiety, yeah, not my thing. But I do love to eat what my mom makes from scratch, which is everything. She went baking MAD this year and let me tell you, she made about 10 things, and we only had about 23 people (Imagine the leftovers! yeah, there are barely any)

Let me see if I can remember any: (All of these recipes will be in the non-paleo treats tab in the next few weeks!)

  • Coconut Macaroons
  • Honey Loaf
  • Coffee Cake
  • Mondel Bread (resembling a soft biscotti)
  • Rugelach
  • Farmers Cheese Cookies
  • Linzer Tarts
  • Mini Lemon Cupcakes with cream cheese frosting with fresh lemon zest
  • Apple Pie Cookies
  • Pound Bunt Cake

DSC_0159 DSC_0168 DSC_0180 DSC_0202 DSC_0222 DSC_0226 DSC_0227 DSC_0228 DSC_0233 DSC_0232 DSC_0229

I love that fact that I have a family that loves to cook. Being around them and sharing something that we love is not always that common. Barbequing with my dad (the BBQ King), baking with my mom, making pasta with my grandmother, and well, my sister and I? We are both incredible cooks, but we prefer to spend our time together eating at NYC Restaurant Week (Can you blame us?)

But even if you don’t have a family that loves to cook, find someone. Grab anyone you know, find a recipe, go food shopping together, cook, and eat together. Make memories. And even if the meal doesn’t come out well, you’ll always have that story of the time you cooked together. I think cooking is just one of those beautiful moments that really bring people together and I’m glad I have a family like that. As much as we all dread the craziness of the holidays, at the end of the day, the chaos is exactly what brings it all together in the end.

To me, food brings people together, and brings smiles to many.

❤ Emily

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2013 by in Non-Paleo Treats, Uncategorized.
