Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Roasted Cauliflower and Kale Soup

1378002548_tmp_DSC_0057__2_

I have an addiction to meat. And addiction may be an understatement. Red meat, poultry, wild game, fish, shellfish, you name it, I eat it; a lot of it. You know how some people say, “You couldn’t pay me to move to X location or to get on a ride at an amusement park?” Well, You could offer me a million dollars and I still wouldn’t give up meat.

Well, for one night, I went vegan, and this wasn’t by choice. One of my best friends is vegan and I give her all of the credit in the world for it especially because of the self control you need to have. But she loves to cook as much as I do and asked if we could have a cooking night and I never say no to cooking and/or food. So we decided to make An appetizer and entrée (which will be posted as soon as I can remember any of the ingredients I put in it)

So if you know me from Instagram, you know that I am in LOVE with roasting vegetables. Yes, I know, cooking vegetables at a high heat will kill the nutrients blah blah blah, but I like crunchy so, I roast. Get over it. I also really enjoy pureed soups. I like the texture and the simplicity of it. I remember in culinary high school, we had to make a soup as a test and of course, I chose a puree and did butternut squash and I remember having 2 minutes left before we had to have it ready for tasting and my soup tasted like absolutely nothing. No flavor, no sweetness, so I ran to the spice rack and threw in cinnamon for shits and giggles and my chefs loved it. Thank the lord for cinnamon! (which is an appetite suppressant by the way. FUN FACT!) Anyways! this soup didn’t include cinnamon but it mixed my favorite cooking technique and favorite type of soup into one and it was amazing and vegan and paleo and heaven on earth.

Servings: 6-8

Ingredients:
1 large head of cauliflower, cut into florets
5 tbsp. olive oil or coconut oil
Sea salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 large bunch of kale or one bag of kale, stemmed removed and cut into 1 inch pieces (if you buy the bag, you can skip the second part)
1 yellow onion; diced
2 celery stalks, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
7 cups chicken broth or vegetable if you’re vegan or vegetarian
1/2 cup toasted pine nuts for topping (optional, I didn’t use them)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees, in a bowl toss cauliflower with 2 tbsp. olive oil with salt and pepper (I prefer to spray my veggies with coconut oil spray instead) Place on a baking sheet and into the oven mixing every so often until cooked, about 22 minutes. Should be slightly browned.
2. Reduce the heat to 300, and on a baking sheet place half of the cut up kale with some sea salt and bake until crunchy (trust me, they will be perfection), about 26-28 minutes
3. In a large pot, warm 2 tbsp. oil and throw the onion and celery into the pot until softened, about 8 minutes. Throw in the garlic and cook for an additional minute and add salt and pepper. Add all of the cauliflower and broth and bring to a simmer on medium-high heat, cover it and let simmer for about 10 minutes. Add the remaining kale that’s not in the oven into the pot, stir and cover over medium heat for another 10 minutes. By the time that’s up, the kale should be almost done in the oven. This recipe works out perfectly when it comes to timing.

DSC_0046

4. In a blender, you will have to do this in portions but add the soup (you can blend the whole thing in about 3 blends. Don’t overfill the blender or it will explode. Puree the soup until it’s a smooth consistency, about 20 seconds. Then place it into another pot or into a bowl until all of it is done blending.
TIP!! When you blend hot things, such as this soup, make sure that the that small circular piece on the lid is taken out and covered with a towel, not a paper towel, a real one. I forgot about that tip and my soup exploded out the bottom and I’m pretty sure there’s still some on the side of my oven. Oops.
5. Ladle the soup into bowls and take the kale from the oven and crumble it on top as well as the pine nuts if you choose to add them.

What I love about this recipe is that you can really choose any vegetable and do the same thing and spice it up yourself. Have fun with it! It’s a great recipe for first time soup makers!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by in Dinner, Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian.
