Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Chocolate Chip Cookies

photo
So these cookies just may be the best paleo cookies I have had thus far. However, that is just my opinion so I can’t guarantee that you will enjoy these to the extent that I did. But, if you do, then you’re welcome.

For the past week I have been slowly recovering from my shoulder surgery. And let me tell you that for someone who is madly in love with rock climbing and being outdoors, it sucks. From being hopped up on Percocet, sleeping 16 hours a day, eating, and not moving off the couch, I am slightly losing my mind. It’s gotten so bad that I think I have seen every show twice on TV and almost every movie. And to make it worse, I hate TV (Unless it’s any food competition or of course, Anthony Bourdain’s “No Reservations”) I try to go walking but then this beautiful and insanely itchy rash will continue to accrue from the sweat that builds up in my sling since my arm can’t move more than 10 degrees. But looking away from all of that, I know in 8 months, I will be climbing every mountain and hiking every trail that I have dreamed of and for once, won’t have to worry about my arm coming out of it’s socket. Sometimes I think it’s hard to realize that things take time but the outcome in the long run is completely worth it. You just need to learn to enjoy the entire journey. Because as much as the recovery process for this type of surgery is driving me crazy, I have finally gotten a chance to hang out with my mom a lot. She has been taking care of me non-stop and cooking me paleo meals just to help me and make me happy. She’s helping me with my blog and she’s helping me figure out my life. So if I can’t see how much my mom cares about me, then I will happily call myself an idiot for the rest of my life.

And this bring me to this recipe. One day when I was taking a nap because my medication was making me feel sick, my mom researched recipes, went to the supermarket, and baked so that when I woke up, there were a plate of freshly baked cookies in front of me. She knew I was talking about baking paleo cookies because I was sick of eating ice cream and the fact that she took to the time to bake these shows she loves me and supports my paleo ways. And that, my friends, is a “Best Mom in the World” award.

These cookies were amazing. Perfect size, taste, right amount of chocolate chips, and most importantly, they were warm. But because my mom isn’t as paleo crazed as we all love to admit, she didn’t make up the recipe but found it on the amazing blog oatmealwithafork.com (check her out!!) But I will save you the trouble of one click by posting the recipe below:

Serves: 9

Ingredients
•1 c. almond meal
•scant ¼ t. sea salt
•⅛ t. baking soda
•¼ t. cinnamon, optional, but delicious!
•3 T. coconut oil or butter, melted
•2 T. honey or maple syrup
•1½ t. vanilla
•1-3 t. water
•2-4 T. chopped dark chocolate, depending on your personal preference (I used 3 T.)

Instructions
1.Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2.Mix the almond meal, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.
3.Stir in the coconut oil, honey/maple syrup, and vanilla.
4.Add in water as needed to bring everything together.
5.Stir in the chopped chocolate last.
6.Bake for 10-11 minutes on a well oiled or parchment paper-lined cookie sheet (the edges should be golden).
7.Let them sit on the pan for 5-10 minutes (they firm up during this time, so this is an important step!).
8.Remove and enjoy!

Notes
Nutrition facts are based on using maple syrup and 4 tablespoons of dark chocolate. Weight Watchers points (new system): 4

Nutrition Information

Serving size: 9 Calories: 139 Fat: 11.2 g Saturated fat: 5.3 g Unsaturated fat: 5.9 g Trans fat: 0 g Carbohydrates: 8.2 g Sugar: 5.6 g Sodium: 71 mg Fiber: 1.5 g Protein: 2.6 g Cholesterol: 1 mg

(this recipe was not made by me. Courtesy of Oatmeal With A Fork)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2013 by in Desserts, Vegan, Vegetarian.
