Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Pasta: So good, even Italians might drool

photo 5

Since moving back from Boulder, my motivation to cook has slightly decreased. Okay, slight may be an understatement. I’ve been getting ready for my surgery, seeing friends that I haven’t seen in months, attempting to run a little bit since I can’t exercise for a while after my operation, and doing things I wanted to get done before Wednesday. But I promised myself that I would try at least one recipe before being indisposed. Which is when I came up with the idea to make homemade gluten-free pasta.

I don’t like pasta. Well, not really. That’s one of the reasons I decided to go paleo; because I already didn’t eat much bread and pasta as is, I felt like Paleo was a good direction for me to go. But this pasta may have possibly changed my opinion. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m a steak lover for life. But I ate like half of this pasta in one sitting and trust me, a HUGE bowl full of these noodles is definitely not one serving size unless you’re competitive eating. (New career opportunity?)

For this recipe I utilized my mom’s never before used pasta maker. But you can definitely use just a knife or biscuit cutters if you want to make either fettucini or even raviolis depending on what you’re in the mood for. So don’t fret if you don’t have a pasta maker! If you have a knife or a pizza cutter or anything that will cut in theory, you are all set!

This recipe originated from Paleo Cupboard but I tweaked it slightly because I didn’t have arrowroot powder.

Ingredients:
1 cup almond meal/flour
1 2/3 cup tapioca flour
2 tsp salt (if you don’t like things with that taste of salt, I would recommend 1 tsp)
2 large eggs
4 egg yolks

Directions:
1. In a food processor, mix all of the dry ingredients for about 20 seconds just to make sure there are no lumps. If you don’t have a food processor, you could also take a whisk and mix it like that until there are no lumps or use a sifter.
2. In a large bowl, place the dry ingredients and make a well at the bottom for the eggs.
3. Place the egg yolks and large eggs in the center of the bowl. (I recommend saving the whites for an omelette the next morning)
4. Using a fork, gently whisk the eggs while slowly incorporating the dry ingredients into it until everything is incorporated. It shouldn’t all stick together so don’t worry if it’s not in a solid ball. If it looks too dry add a little bit of water and if it’s too wet, add some tapioca flour).
5. Take the dough out of the bowl and place on a countertop covered in tapioca flour to prevent sticking because it WILL stick if you don’t flour it. fold the dough into itself for about five minutes until the entire thing comes together. If you are cutting it by hand, you can leave it in one ball, and if you’re using the pasta maker, make about 4 or 5 balls and cover them with seran wrap until they are done to keep them from drying out.
6. Roll out your dough into a thin sheet, enough to fit into the biggest width on the pasta maker, the 0 or 1 option or roll it out until it’s about 1/16 of an inch.
7. In the pasta maker, run each ball through the 0 or 1 option for width and then pull the finished product through the pasta cutter of your choice. I chose fettucine. (MAKE SURE TO FLOUR THE PASTA MAKER) If you are cutting it, use a knife and cut long strips down the length of the rolled out dough.
photo 1
photo 3
8. Put up a pot of boiling water with some oil so they don’t stick together, because they will.
9. Place the pasta in the water and wait only 2 or 3 minutes until it rises to the top.

DO NOT RINSE WITH WATER! Rinsing with water to cool down actually removes the layer of gluten which is what allows sauce to stick to the pasta.

Enjoy! 🙂

Makes 4 Servings

Lets all take a minute right now to thank the Paleo Gods for tapioca flour. Let there be pasta!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2013 by in Dinner, Vegetarian.
