Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Caramelized Bananas (aka Heaven)

bananas2

You can stop drooling now. I know, it’s hard not to)

I feel as if when people make blogs, they like to write a little story about their day, week, etc, before giving their recipe. It’s like saying, “I will give you this awesome recipe, but first, you must read about my overly exciting life that consists of really nothing out of the ordinary.”

That being said, let me tell you about my week:

I have dislocated my shoulder 6 times. All reasons that are so ridiculous, I should have my own reality show. Seriously, I actually dislocated it once turning on a light switch. But last week, I dislocated it again rock climbing and I found out I tore my labrum and I should have surgery. I figure, 7 times is enough. I want to live my life, i want to enjoy the things I do without worrying constantly that my arm will slip and I will have to keep popping it back in. So, this week, I made the decision to move from my current home, Boulder, CO back home to NJ to have the surgery and heal for about 2 months there before returning to Colorado. I am losing my job that I love to death, I’m leaving friends, and I’m leaving a place I just moved to not even three months ago. But I know, that after the 6 months of full recovery, I will be able to climb those fourteeners (really tall mountains), climb, bike, swim, and do anything I want because i won’t have to worry about injury. Since I won’t be able to do a lot of what I love, I still have paleo and healthy eating which is why I’m now so dedicated to this blog.

Now that I have so much spare time, I am experimenting a lot. I remember while studying in Florence, Italy how to make a caramel. (It’s really, really hard) Pay attention closely because the directions are really difficult. Okay, take sugar, any kind. This is the intense part…you, put it in a pan and heat it up! I KNOW! I never thought I would be able to figure it out either. Some recipes are just so intense, i break out in a sweat, just like this one.

But last night, I was craving sugar and bananas and ice cream and coconut. I like sugar. Get over it.
So, I came up with the idea of caramelizing bananas (No, it’s not an mind-blowing recipe, but it’s fucking delicious so who gives a crap)

Serving: 1 banana

Ingredients:
1.5 TBSP Madhava Coconut Sugar or any brand (if you’re not going paleo, any sugar will do)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 tsp water

Directions:
1. In a low-medium heated pan, place sugar and let that heat for a minute
2. Add in vanilla and be prepared to stir it. It will thicken up fast and almost look like glue. That is the point where you add in the water and mix it.
3. Let it cook down a little bit so it becomes a little thick, then add sliced bananas.
4. Toss bananas in pan for a few minutes until coated and VOILA! That easy.

Bananas being coated in sugar, vanilla, and water.

Bananas being coated in sugar, vanilla, and water.

<

I suggest washing the pan immediately because it's going to be a pain in the ass to try and wash a pan with sticky sugar in it.

Serving options: I love it topped with Vanilla Maple Arctic Zero ice cream and unsweetened coconut but experiment with it!

2 comments on “Caramelized Bananas (aka Heaven)

  1. Cat
    November 24, 2013

    Yum! This with the creamy part from coconut milk would be unbelievable…. must make now…

  2. Pingback: Paleo Gingerbread Cookies (GF, DF) - Cat Food is Good For You : Cat Food is Good For You

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2013 by in Desserts, Vegan, Vegetarian.
