Paleo Persuasion

If this blog doesn't persuade you to go Paleo, I've lost all hope. And if you still aren't convinced, I will help you become a badass chef with my non-paleo recipes and cooking tips

Chocolate Espresso and Raspberry Tokens

Here’s a small token of my appreciation towards paleo…

….a token of chocolate.

discs2

So I was in the mood for dessert tonight (who isn’t every night?), and as I went to grab some Arctic Zero ice cream, I realized that I could spend $5.00 on ice cream I would consume in two sittings or make something I was truly craving: Coffee, chocolate, and raspberries. But I was also craving a frozen Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, so I thought: “Why not combine the two and make something paleo but satisfies everything I want into one?” And so, I did.

This recipe was an experiment and I will improve but I thought it was quite delicious and cold (which I so desperately need in this Colorado heat) and sweet, and paleo. Which, to me, is pretty wonderful in my eyes.

Yield: 15 small discs or approximately 8 bigger (Reese’s size discs)

Ingredients:
1/2 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chunks or chocolate chips (if you can’t find them, you can use any chocolate above 75% to consider it paleo)
1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1 tbsp espresso ground up (depends on how strong you want them)

Mini muffin liners (the super tiny ones) unless you want to make bigger ones. A muffin pan would help them keep shape while freezing but that isn’t necessary if you’re careful with them or if you don’t care about the shape.

Instructions:

1. In a small saucepan, place frozen raspberries, or fresh if you have, on low heat and let them sit until there are no clumps except for the seeds. Mix every few minutes and mash with a spatula or potato masher if necessary.
2. While that’s going, put chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and heat it in 20 second increments otherwise it will burn. Mix every time and continue to do so until chocolate is fully melted.
3. Mix espresso into chocolate. In the melted chocolate, if you taste it, you will have the crunchiness of the espresso, but once it’s frozen, you won’t taste it anymore. You can try brewing the espresso, but I have not tried that method so I don’t know the outcome.
4. Raspberries should be done by this point, so take off heat and let them cool down.
5. In the muffin tins, place a tsp of melted chocolate so it coats the bottom. Add as much as you would like depending on how much chocolate you want. Once all of your liners are filled, either place them in a muffin pan or individually place them in the freezer and let them set for about 10 minutes.
6. Take liners out of the freezer and place a dollop of raspberries (approx 1 tsp) on top of the chocolate and place back in the freezer. The longer they are in the freezer, the better, but mine were ready to be eaten after about 20 minutes.
7. Eat them immediately after taking them out of the freezer and ENJOY!

I love these because they are small and perfect for a pick me up on a hot day and even a pick me up if you need some espresso. If you don’t like espresso at all, I would recommend putting in some sea salt (around 2 tsp) into the chocolate once melted and they will be just as delicious!

These are a gift to you,

A small token of my gratitude (that joke doesn’t get old)

discs3

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2013 by in Desserts, Vegan, Vegetarian.
